Revised Blooms Taxonomy Assignment Notes

Revised Blooms Taxonomy Notes

Revised Blooms Taxonomy Assignment Notes: Bloom’s taxonomy is a framework for categorizing educational goals and objectives into a hierarchical order. It was first introduced in 1956 by Benjamin Bloom, and later revised in 2001 by a group of educators.

INTRODUCTION (Revised Blooms Taxonomy)

In 2001, a group of educators led by Lorin Anderson revised Bloom’s original taxonomy, creating what is now known as the revised Bloom’s taxonomy.

The revised version retains the original six levels of cognitive development, but updates the language and descriptions to reflect modern educational practices and technology.

One key difference in the revised taxonomy is that the levels are now described as verbs rather than nouns, making them more action-oriented and applicable to a wider range of subjects and activities. For example, “remembering” is now “remember”, and “creating” is now “create”.

Another change in the revised taxonomy is the addition of a new dimension, known as the “knowledge dimension”. This dimension defines different types of knowledge that learners can acquire, ranging from factual and conceptual knowledge to procedural and metacognitive knowledge.

The need for revision of Bloom’s original taxonomy arose due to changes in educational practices and technology over time. The revised version reflects a more inclusive and modern approach to learning, taking into account the increased importance of critical thinking, creativity, and problem-solving skills in today’s society.

Domains of Bloom’s Taxonomy (2001)

Bloom’s Taxonomy consists of three domains or categories of educational goals or learning objectives:

1. Cognitive Domain

This domain deals with intellectual or mental skills, knowledge, and abilities. The cognitive domain has six levels, ranging from lower-order thinking skills, such as remembering and understanding, to higher-order thinking skills, such as analyzing, evaluating, and creating.

Bloom’s original taxonomy had six domains or levels in the cognitive domain, which were:

  1. Remembering: This level involved the ability to recall or recognize previously learned information, such as facts, terminology, or basic concepts.
  2. Understanding: This level involves the ability to comprehend or interpret information, such as explaining ideas, summarizing texts, or interpreting charts or graphs.
  3. Applying: This level involves the ability to use or apply knowledge and skills to solve problems or complete tasks, such as using formulas, techniques, or procedures to solve problems.
  4. Analyzing: This level involves the ability to break down or analyze information into smaller parts, such as identifying patterns, comparing and contrasting ideas, or analyzing cause and effect relationships.
  5. Evaluating: This level involves the ability to make judgments or evaluate the quality, effectiveness, or value of information, ideas, or products, such as critiquing or assessing the strengths and weaknesses of arguments or designs.
  6. Creating: This level involves the ability to generate or create new ideas, products, or solutions, such as designing or developing new products, or creating original works of art or literature.

2. Affective Domain

This domain deals with the emotional and affective aspects of learning, such as attitudes, values, and beliefs. The affective domain has five levels, ranging from receiving and responding to the environment to characterizing and internalizing values.

3. Psychomotor Domain

This domain deals with physical or manual skills and abilities. The psychomotor domain has five levels, ranging from imitation of actions to the creation of new movements and patterns.

Revised Blooms Taxonomy Assignment Notes PDF


Want to buy Lesson Plan Files? Order all subjects lesson plans! Click Here!

Follow us on our social media handles to get regular updates-

Useful books

B.Ed Project Files

Lesson Plans

Trending articles

This Revised Blooms Taxonomy Assignment Notes content has been contributed by Bhanu Garg. She turned out to be a great contributor to our website and has been helping us and our readers with her best material.

If you also wish to contribute and help our readers find all the stuff at a single place, feel free to send your notes/assignments/PPTs/PDF notes/Files/Lesson Plans, etc., on our WhatsApp number +91-8920650472 Or by mailing us at, we will give full credits to you for your kind contribution.

You can also work with us as a team by simply contacting us Here.

In the PDF given below, Bhanu has covered all the important details of Revised Blooms Taxonomy Assignment Notes, and we truly appreciate that.

Revised Blooms Taxonomy Assignment, Revised Blooms Taxonomy Notes, Revised Blooms Taxonomy PDF Notes for MDU, CRSU, KUK, IGNOU, DU, GGSIPU, etc.

error: Content is protected !!